“I might be a biology teacher, but I’m here to have chemistry with you.”

“I might be a biology teacher, but I’m here to have chemistry with you. ” -Contestant, The Bachelorette

I don’t feel like being tentative about this any longer. I’ve decided that my avocation will be writing. Everything lately has been pointing to it, both consciously and subconsciously. Little cues from everything to do it. And it makes me happy when I am writing, even if what I’m producing is turd-like. I’m ok if this never even produces any income for me, because I love it so. I just. want. to. do. it.

Also, to be honest, any other hobby wouldn’t work with my work schedule. I spend around 3 hours a day commuting. And all this time spent commuting means that any other activity (art classes, underwater basket-weaving, etc) is going to be downright impossible for me to get to without collapsing in exhaustion at the end of the day. And I can spend my breaks at work writing, but it’s hard to bust out any other kind of equipment.

I’m doing some more plotting for the Camp Nanowrimo project; I’ve decided to go with the Scifi Culvert story first, in June. In July I’ll do plotting for the chick lit novel, and write in either August or November. If I decide to be really impressive with one of the two I’ll write another 50k words for November’s Nanowrimo.

Got over the bout of food poisoning I enjoyed this past weekend–haven’t yakked like that since I was 7. So happy to be back to normal.

Trying to get back into the swing of things…

Leave a comment